Quick Answer: What Happens When You Erase All Content And Settings?

How do I clear my iPhone to sell it?

Step 5: Erase your iPhoneLaunch the Settings app on your iPhone.Tap General.Scroll to the bottom and tap Reset.Tap Erase All Content and Settings.Enter your passcode.Tap Erase iPhone.Tap Erase iPhone again to confirm.More items…•.

Does resetting all settings on iPhone delete everything?

Apple offers several ways to restore the default iPhone settings without deleting your data like Photos, messages, notes, email, music, videos, and other content. While the “Reset All Settings” option won’t delete your content, the one thing it does remove is Apple Pay cards. … No data or media are deleted.

What is the difference between reset all settings and erase all content and settings?

Reset All Settings and Erase All Content and Settings do different things. Reset all Settings removes things like your Wifi password and settings you’ve set on your iPad for Apps, mail, etc. Erase All Content and Settings restores a device to it’s out of the box state when it was first turned on.

Does erase all content and settings remove Apple ID?

The option Erase all content and settings is making the phone brand new with no configurations. This will remove your Apple ID, apps, etc. Before doing so, ensure you have everything backed up.

Will a factory reset remove my Apple ID?

It isn’t true. Erase all content and settings wipes the phone and returns it to it’s out of the box condition.

What do you lose when you reset your iPhone?

Reset after iCloud or iTunes backup When you Erase All Content and Settings, it completely resets your device. All information including apps, photos, videos, contacts, messages, calendar, or music etc. are lost. In order to restore your iPhone after factory reset, first take the backup of data in iCloud or iTunes.

How do I clear my iPhone before selling it?

How to erase all data from your iPhone or iPadLaunch the Settings app from the Home screen of your iPhone or iPad.Now tap on General.Scroll to the bottom and tap on Reset. … Tap on Erase All Content and Settings.Tap on Erase Now.Enter your Passcode.More items…•

Does erase all content and settings delete everything?

Performing a Factory Reset WILL PERMANENTLY DELETE ALL of your data & customized settings, and will also remove any installed Applications. Performing a Factory Reset WILL NOT remove the data & files that are stored on the microSD card in your device.

What happens if I press Erase all content and settings?

When you tap Erase All Content and Settings, it completely erases your device, including any credit or debit cards you added for Apple Pay and any photos, contacts, music, or apps. It will also turn off iCloud, iMessage, FaceTime, Game Center, and other services.

Should I remove my SIM card before factory reset?

It shouldn’t matter. The SIM card is just your authorization to use a particular phone network. It has nothing to do with how the phone itself works or what info/settings are on it. The phone likely will constantly nag you about not having a SIM in it if you turn it on without one installed.

How do you reset your iPhone without losing everything?

To reset the settings on your device go to Settings >> General then scroll down and tap the Reset button at the bottom. On the Reset screen tap Reset All Settings – Not Erase All Content and Settings – then you’ll need to verify you want to do it twice. It should only take a couple of minutes at most.

Does reset all settings delete apps?

A factory data reset erases your data from the phone. While data stored in your Google Account can be restored, all apps and their data will be uninstalled.

How do I wipe my old iPhone before selling it?

Share All sharing options for: How to wipe your iPhone before selling or trading it inOpen up Settings.Scroll down and tap “General”Scroll down and select “Reset”Tap “Erase All Content and Settings”

Does erase all content and settings delete iCloud?

[5] iCloud. As it turns out, erasing your iPhone only partially removes it from your iCloud account. Using your Mac, go to OS X’s Apple menu, choose System Preferences, then choose iCloud and click Account Details.

Does resetting iPhone delete everything?

Resetting your iPhone basically erases all of your personal information from the phone. The factory settings will, however, be retained. It’s a straightforward and no iPhone reset code is required.

Will erasing iPhone delete iCloud?

3 Answers. No, factory resetting your iPhone will not alter your iCloud. Upon setting up your iPhone again you will be given the option to reconnect to your iCloud account if you desire. iCloud also stores iPhone backups that you can restore your phone from.